National Film School

“The NFS Lecture series is a really brilliant initiative. Not only does it expose students to the very best practitioners in up close and personal interviews and masterclasses but it also strengthens the links between the sector and the Film School, building on the possibility for future work and collaboration”. Ed Guiney, Oscar® nominated producer of 'Room'.

The National Film School (NFS) provides state-of-the-art facilities for education and training in film, television and radio production, design for stage and screen, and modelmaking. A wide variety of courses from across IADT make use of the NFS facilities. IADT is a full member of CILECT, the International Association of Film and Television Schools. 

For over thirty years we’ve provided a very high standard of applied film education thanks to such fantastic resources and the excellence of our staff, who possess considerable industry experience. A high proportion of our staffing team continue to work as practitioners. We’re proud of the consistently high achievements of our student productions in professional competitions and festivals at home and internationally, and of the careers our graduates have gone on to forge in the entertainment and media industries. 

The National Film School is available for external rentals, please click on the following link for more information.  NFS Commercial Hire

National Film School Lectures

Since its inception in 2004, our annual series of NFS Lectures has introduced 75 leading international practitioners from ten countries to our students. Thirty of them are Academy Award® nominees and between them they have received 77 Oscar® nominations. They have also won Golden Globes, Primetime Emmy Awards®, BAFTAs, Césars, European Film Academy Awards, Annies, and IFTAs. The series is supported by Bord Scannán na hÉireann / The Irish Film Board.

Past participants have included:

Lisa Albert (Writer/Producer), Mad Men
Lenny Abrahamson (Director), Room
Barry Ackroyd BSC (Cinematographer), The Hurt Locker
Luciana Arrighi (Production Designer), The Remains of the Day
Mick Audsley (Editor), Twelve Monkeys
Jenny Beavan (Costume Designer), Mad Max: Fury Road
John Boorman (Producer/Director), Deliverance
Consolata Boyle (Costume Designer), Florence Foster Jenkins
Gabriel Byrne (Actor), The Usual Suspects
John Canemaker (Animator), [Academy Award® winner]
Danny Cohen BSC (Cinematographer), Les Misérables
Terence Davies (Writer/Director), Distant Voices, Still Lives
Stephen Frears (Director), The Queen
Bruno Delbonnel AFC (Cinematographer), Inside Llewyn Davis
Brendan Gleeson (Actor), Harry Potter
Eric Goldberg (Animator), Aladdin
Ed Guiney (Producer), Room
Oliver Hirschbiegel (Director), Downfall
Gemma Jackson (Production Designer), Game of Thrones
Neil Jordan (Writer/Director), The Crying Game
John Landis (Director), The Blues Brothers
Tony Lawson Ace (Editor), Barry Lyndon
Mike Leigh (Writer/Director), Secrets & Lies
Alex Mc Dowell (Production Designer), Man of Steel
Seamus Mc Garvey BSC (Cinematographer), Atonement
Alison Owen (Producer), Elizabeth
Alan Parker (Director), Mississippi Burning
Bill Plympton (Animator), Idiots and Angels
Joanna Quinn (Animator), [Academy Award® nominee]
Frederic Raphael (Screenwriter), Eyes Wide Shut
Stephen Rea (Actor), The End of the Affair
John Sayles (Writer/Director), Passion Fish
Jim Sheridan (Writer/Director), In the Name of the Father
Oliver Stone (Writer/Director), JFK
Krzysztof Zanussi (Writer/Director), Constans