National Film School

" there is the good work being done at the National Film School in [the] Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology "
DONALD CLARKE: The Irish Times (12 February 2011)"

The National Film School (NFS) at IADT was launched in November 2003. It is a professional centre of excellence that both reflects and influences practice in the film, animation, broadcasting and digital media industries by providing creative, technical and academic education of an international standard. This status is based on: the consistently high achievements of its student productions in both professional competitions and festivals, at home and abroad; the careers of its graduates in the entertainment and media industries; the very high standard of applied film education that has been provided by us in Dún Laoghaire for almost 30 years; and the excellence of its staff. IADT’s full-time and part-time staff possess considerable industry experience and a high proportion continue to work as practitioners.

It has the widest portfolio of overlapping, inter-connected practical full-time courses on the island of Ireland all of which are honours undergraduate programmes (4 years):

Plus postgraduate MA programmes (1 year) in:

And a 240 ECTs MA by practice-based research which can be undertaken in any field of film studies, e.g. Animation, Cinematography, Direction, Production Design, etc..  Applicants must make a detailed project proposal and will be appointed a specialist supervisor."

These honours and master degree programmes are constantly under review, and are designed to develop high quality skills as well as to nurture and encourage artistic development. They also prepare graduating students for work in a variety of different roles as the sector evolves in the 21st century. Past and present External Examiners of these courses include:  Rolf Orthel, Lynda Myles, Les Blair, Mark O’Halloran, Eoin McNamee, Moira Tait, Martin Mahon, Ronan Kelly, Bob Godfrey, Jimmy Murakami, and Leonie Sharrock.

IADT’s status as the NFS is consolidated by the high profile of its prestigious Advisory Board, which is made up of leading practitioners from the film, television and media industries.  The Board is chaired by Morgan O’Sullivan and its membership includes John Boorman, Pierce Brosnan, Donald Taylor Black, Toni Delany, Roddy Doyle, Clare Duignan, Joan Egan, Cathal Gaffney, James Hickey, Róisín Hogan, Neil Jordan, James Morris, Kevin Rockett, Jim Sheridan, Ken Wardrop and Bill Whelan. Our relations with the industry are excellent and, at our annual conferring ceremony, NFS Awards are supported and are sponsored by RTÉ, Screen Producers Ireland, Film Base, the Irish Playwrights & Screenwriters Guild, and Windmill Lane.

IADT is the only Irish full member of the Centre International de Liaison des Ecoles de Cinéma et de Télévision (CILECT), the International Association of Film and Television Schools, and GEECT, the Groupement Européen des Ecoles de Cinéma et de Télévision, the CILECT regional association.  Founded in Cannes in 1955, CILECT has 160 members in 60 countries and full membership is open only to those film schools whose qualifications, curriculum, facilities, equipment and staff have been approved by the Executive Council; additionally, it must be demonstrated that the school is successful in training students to the professional level of the country in which it operates.